Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
August and Everything After
Cover of August and Everything After
August and Everything After
Borrow Borrow
One last summer to escape, to find herself, to figure out what comes next. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han will love this contemporary, coming-of-age romance.Graduation was supposed to be a relief....
One last summer to escape, to find herself, to figure out what comes next. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han will love this contemporary, coming-of-age romance.Graduation was supposed to be a relief....
Available Formats-
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    always available
  • Library copies:
    always available

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • One last summer to escape, to find herself, to figure out what comes next. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han will love this contemporary, coming-of-age romance.

    Graduation was supposed to be a relief. Except Quinn can't avoid the rumors that plagued her throughout high school or the barrage of well-intentioned questions about her college plans. How is she supposed to know what she wants to do for the next four years, let alone the rest of her life? And why does no one understand that it's hard for her to think about the future—or feel as if she even deserves one—when her best friend is dead?

    Spending the summer with her aunt on the Jersey shore may just be the fresh start Quinn so desperately needs. And when she meets Malcolm, a musician with his own haunted past, she starts to believe in second chances. Can Quinn find love while finding herself?

About the Author-

  • Jennifer Salvato Doktorski is the author of several young adult novels, including The Summer After You and Me, a YALSA Teens' Top Ten nominee. She lives with her family in New Jersey, spending her summers "down the shore," where everything's always all right. You can find out more about her at jendoktorski.com.

Reviews-

  • Publisher's Weekly

    March 12, 2018
    Quinn and Malcolm are each grieving the loss of friends: narrator Quinn’s best friend died in a car wreck that nearly killed her, and two of Malcolm’s band members died in a bus accident. Both teens are also struggling with the aftermath of being close to death themselves; Quinn suffers from anxiety, and Malcolm turns to alcohol and drugs to escape. When Malcolm invites Quinn to play drums in his band, she finds the perfect summer distraction from her grief. Doktorski (The Summer After You and Me) fills her latest novel with music—Quinn playing the drums at band practice with Malcolm, recording an album, and playing live. The teens wrestle with their own darkness; Malcolm tries to conquer addiction, and Quinn tries to work through the guilt surrounding her best friend’s accident and its consequences. This is a satisfying blend of family drama, romance, and music, staged in the aftermath of tragedy. Ages 14–up. Agent: Kerry Sparks, Levine Greenberg Rostan Literary Agency.

  • Kirkus

    April 15, 2018
    During a summer at the Jersey shore, a young woman asks questions about loss, love, and music.At 15, Quinn lost her best friend, Lynn, in a car accident--an accident she thinks is her fault. Now 18, Quinn is staying with her aunt, trying to come up with a life plan at her mother's insistence. Yet Quinn can't seem to think beyond the end of the summer. Meeting local musician Malcolm, who became addicted to drugs after a car crash killed two of his band members, makes Quinn start thinking about what she wants. She agrees to play drums on Malcolm's demo, and they begin a relationship--a dangerous one, since Quinn can't help wanting to save Malcolm. There are plenty of people in Quinn's life, such as her aunt, who tell her to put herself first. Now she will have to decide whether to take that advice or live for today by joining Malcolm on tour. All major characters are white. Whether it's due to the lack of sparks between Quinn and Malcolm or the lack of power in the retrospective view of Quinn's problems, the individual notes do not fit together to form a harmonious whole. While the pieces of this novel are all handled competently, they don't quite mesh. (Romance. 14-18)

    COPYRIGHT(2018) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • School Library Journal

    May 1, 2018

    Gr 9 Up-After the death of her best friend August (for which she blames herself) and a humiliating and very public error in judgment involving a young, male teacher at her school, Quinn ends up fleeing to her rock and roller aunt's beachside home. Ostensibly there to work, reflect, and make a "life plan" for the fall, the teen instead teaches herself to play drums and falls in love with a recovering addict who shares her understanding of what it's like to lose someone. Malcolm is picking up the pieces after his former band members died in a car accident, and he enlists Quinn and their friend Liam to record an album of new, soulful songs that he hopes will relaunch his career. Through their shared love for music, and as they both try to come to terms with their grief and guilt, Quinn and Malcolm form an intense bond that transcends fairy-tale romance. It's not an easy or straightforward relationship, and Quinn does end up reflecting deeply on who she is and what she needs as she makes decisions for her post-August future. Readers will be glad to know that Quinn emerges from this back-and-forth stronger, wiser, and more herself than ever. Fans of Leila Sales's This Song Will Save Your Life and Sarah Dessen's Just Listen will likely enjoy this romance. VERDICT Recommended for general purchase.-Nora G. Murphy, Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy, CA

    Copyright 2018 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Publishers Weekly " A satisfying blend of family drama, romance, and music, staged in the aftermath of tragedy."
  • School Library Journal "Fans of Leila Sales's This Song Will Save Your Life and Sarah Dessen's Just Listen will likely enjoy this romance"

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Sourcebooks
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
August and Everything After
August and Everything After
Jennifer Doktorski
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
August and Everything After
August and Everything After
Jennifer Doktorski
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Ateneo de Manila High School, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close